Close this search box.

Serving the Balranald Shire Region


Welcome to the Balranald Shire Council

Balranald Shire is a local government area in the Riverina area of western New South Wales, on the Sturt Highway. It is the location of World Heritage listed Mungo National Park and the Willandra Lakes region. Balranald Shire is also known for the five iconic rivers that meander through the Shire being the Murrumbidgee, Murray, Wakool, Edward and Lachlan rivers.

Part of Yanga National Park is also located in the Balranald Shire and is in close proximity to the township of Balranald.

Balranald Shire includes the towns of Balranald and Euston. Other localities include Kyalite, Hatfield, Penarie, Clare and Oxley.

Upcoming Events

Discover upcoming Balranald & surrounds events
No upcoming events found.

Getting Here

How to get to Balranald

There are a number of ways to reach Balranald from major cities such as Sydney, Melbourne & Adelaide. Some flights can be made to Mildura, a close by town, or if you’re driving there are a number of ways to reach us.